Home Literature Stories Movies Games Comics Blogs News Discussion Forum Art Gallery
  Science Fiction and Fantasy News
Esslemont's Stonewielder Prologue and Cover (07-26)
Deals and Deliveries (9!!!) (09-12)
Iron Man: Femmes Fatales by Robert Greenberger (09-12)
Indiana Jones and the Army of the Dead by Steve Pe (09-12)

Official sffworld Reviews
Big Time, The by Fritz Leiber (05-29 - Book)
Rogue Clone by Steven L. Kent (05-25 - Book)
The Blue Blazes by Chuck Wendig (05-21 - Book)
The Wisdom of the Shire by Noble Smith (05-17 - Book)


Author

Site Index

Book Info    Bookmark and Share

Bakers Boy, The by J.V. Jones

  (47 ratings)

A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z

Rating (47 ratings)
Rate this book
(5 best - 1 worst)
 
Book Information  
AuthorJ.V. Jones
TitleBakers Boy, The
SeriesBook of Words, The
Volume1
YearUnknown
GenreFantasy
 
Book Reviews / Comments (submitted by readers)
 
Submitted by Ryan Vaughn 
(May 16, 2005)

This book and the 2 following books were very well written in my humble opinion. The characters are interesting and filled with nuance. You see from the villians perspective and this is not something you always get. The thing in particular I liked the most about J. V. Jones is that for the first time, and granted I have read somewhere between 200 to 300 books, I have been able to be surprised repeatedly by the plot twists. They were very exiting to read, and even harder to put down. Most of the books were 1 or 2 sitting reads. Thats good because I usually average 2 weeks to read a book thats really good. Definitly a book I have recomended repeatedly, and yes I am reading the second series just haven't been able to get the third book.


Submitted by Phil
(Jun 16, 2000)

I really didn't like this book. I found the characters in it too basic and uninteresting. The whole idea of the bumbling but well-meaning baker's boy discovering hidden powers within himself is just too trite and cliched. The villain was also very shallow. Other than ambition and greed there is not much too him. Pretty much every character in the book falls into the catergory of sickeningly saccharine or tiresomely selfish and evil. I've been able to swallow this kind of plot before, but the writing in this book was too poor to redeem itself. Please save yourself the trouble of trying to read this book.


Submitted by Ihsan Alnasrawi
(Apr 25, 2000)

Growing up reading ROBERT E HOWARD's tales of the Cimmerian CONAN, I started reading ROBERT JORDAN's own chronicles of the most famous of all barbarians (I loved Jordan's narrative style from the start - it's been said that nobody alive writes CONAN better than Robert Jordan) and so naturally progressed to reading the brilliant WHEEL OF TIME series (and despite it's annoying meanderings and frustrating side-tracking sub-plots, I still feel it will be, when completed, the single greatest fantasy series of all time, and probably the largest!).
So when I stumbled upon JV JONE's first volume of the BOOK OF WORDS, it was an immediate hit with me - it's very much in the Robert Jordan vein, both in terms of the depth of the characters and their continuos and detailed development, and the style of story telling, but without the sometimes vast long-windedness and distractions that Jordan is prone to.
I wouldn't say the characters and story settings are as in-depth and detailed as Jordan's worlds, but they are delightful and extremely intriguing and interesting.  I've read plenty of fantasy and I've always looked for that "gem" amongst the immense pile of mediocrity that is fantasy literature, and I found that gem in JV Jones - something that for me is a must-read, ranking way up there near Robert Jordan - above the also-ran, formulaic authors, of which there are so many to trawl through when you're trying to find something you really like.
At first I noticed certain initial parallels with TAD WILLIAMS' unnecessarily lengthy "Memory, Sorrow & Thorn" series and other fantasy titles - with one of the central characters being a "ordinary" person who actually turns out to be someone immensely important who is destined to hold fate of the world in his hands, and certain other aspects - but from there the resemblance ends.  The characters are instantly endearing - every single one is likeable in its own sort of way.  There is a lot of humour amongst what is really a book for the more mature readers - it contains many adult themes which guys like Robert Jordan (who seemingly attempt to reach as wide a demographic of readers as possible, young and old, male and female) avoid going into.  I used to be somewhat of the mind that a book written by a woman would tend to the softer, less explicit and brighter subjects (okay, I've got a few preconceptions, but JV Jones shattered them utterly!), but I was sorely mistaken!  At times, her work is as dark and deadly as anybody's - even GRR Martin - she does not fear to encroach into subjects that most authors would happily avoid to appeal to a wider readership and keep sales high.
One of the great things about JV Jone's work is her short, concise, straight-to-the-point style (as opposed to Robert Jordan's longeurs), very much in the vein of GRR Martin and David Gemmell, though the adult content is definitely not up there with GRR Martin (I know of no other mainstream fantasy author who delves so deeply and explicitly in adult subjects).  The chapters are short and so you're left constantly craving to know what happens in the next chapter.  It's immensely exciting!
The "bad guy" characters are really, really great - JV Jones is something of a master here, right up there with Jordan and Martin - the back-stabbing and skulduggery, the plots-within-plots, the conniving, the jealousy, the greed for power - there's layer upon layer of character there, all woven together in a bewilderingly rich tapestry for each individual that's quite staggering and well though out.
Overall, the first BOOK OF WORDS, and indeed the entire trilogy, is an absolute must-read.  It's incredibly fast-paced, extremely well thought out, well-written, with a well-structured, mature, no-time-to-be-bored-to-death story-line that makes it definitely a GEM in the fantasy genre.  Read it if you haven't already, it's well worth it.




Sponsor ads

 

Latest

The Terry Pratchett Anywhere But Here, Anywhen But Now First Novel Prize!
05-31 - News
Stephen King's Joyland UK Promotion
05-30 - News
UK Publisher of Stephen King’s New Novel Unusual Promotion
05-30 - News
Big Time, The by Fritz Leiber
05-29 - Book Review
Rogue Clone by Steven L. Kent
05-25 - Book Review
The Blue Blazes by Chuck Wendig
05-21 - Book Review
The Wisdom of the Shire by Noble Smith
05-17 - Book Review

05-10 - News
The Tyrant's Law by Daniel Abraham
05-04 - Book Review
Galaxy's Edge 1 by Mike Resnick
04-28 - Book Review
Poison by Sarah Pinborough
04-21 - Book Review
Bullington, Beukes and Bacigalupi event
04-19 - News
The City by Stella Gemmell
04-17 - Book Review
Promise of Blood by Brian McClellan
04-15 - Book Review
Tarnished Knight by Jack Campbell
04-09 - Book Review
Frank Hampson: Tomorrow Revisited by Alastair Crompton
04-07 - Book Review
The Forever Knight by John Marco
04-01 - Book Review
Book of Sith - Secrets from the Dark Side by Daniel Wallace
03-31 - Book Review
NOS4R2 by Joe Hill
03-25 - Book Review
Fade to Black by Francis Knight
03-13 - Book Review
The Clone Republic by Steven L. Kent
03-12 - Book Review
The Burn Zone by James K. Decker
03-06 - Book Review
A Conspiracy of Alchemists by Liesel Schwarz
03-04 - Book Review
Blood's Pride by Evie Manieri
02-28 - Book Review
Excerpt: River of Stars by Guy Gavriel Kay
02-27 - Article
Tales of Majipoor by Robert Silverberg
02-24 - Book Review
American Elsewhere by Robert Jackson Bennett
02-20 - Book Review
Evie Manieri Guest Post
02-19 - Article
The Grim Company by Luke Scull
02-17 - Book Review
Red Planet by Robert A. Heinlein
02-11 - Book Review

New Forum Posts




About - Advertising - Contact us - RSS - For Authors & Publishers - Contribute / Submit - Privacy Policy - Community Login
Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use. The contents of this webpage are copyright © 1997-2011 sffworld.com. All Rights Reserved.