Home Literature Stories Movies Games Comics News Discussion Forum
  Science Fiction and Fantasy News
Esslemont's Stonewielder Prologue and Cover (07-26)
Deals and Deliveries (9!!!) (09-12)
Iron Man: Femmes Fatales by Robert Greenberger (09-12)
Indiana Jones and the Army of the Dead by Steve Pe (09-12)

Official sffworld Reviews
Big Time, The by Fritz Leiber (05-29 - Book)
Rogue Clone by Steven L. Kent (05-25 - Book)
The Blue Blazes by Chuck Wendig (05-21 - Book)
The Wisdom of the Shire by Noble Smith (05-17 - Book)


Site Index

Book Info    Bookmark and Share

Shadow Rising, The by Robert Jordan

  (105 ratings)

A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z

Rating (105 ratings)
Rate this book
(5 best - 1 worst)
Book Information  
AuthorRobert Jordan
TitleShadow Rising, The
SeriesWheel of Time, The
Book Reviews / Comments (submitted by readers)
Submitted by Benjamin Hampton 
(Jun 24, 2007)

I went to Borders the day after I finished the Dragon Reborn (which was great) and picked this up. Out of all of the books in the series so far, this is the fastest paced one. The story unfolds in a dramatic and enthralling way, and as the characters grow, Robert Jordan's writing does as well. The story is fantastic, and although all (I mean all when I say it) the women seem to...hate...men,the characters are still enjoyable. With each book you can feel the tension rising and rising until book 12 finally arrives. Overall, I highly suggest this book but only if you've read the other three before it.

Submitted by Mattias E'therin
(Jan 20, 2004)

A friend from school got me hooked on the WOT series. I read the back cover of the first book and had to read them. The books are great for all who love adventure and fantasy (as in the "Lord of the Rings"), even some people do believe that the books are too long, but I have also gotten several hooked on the books.

"The Shadow Rising" is no exception to the greatness of Jordan's unique style of writing. He uses many twists and plotting in the stories to keep you on your feet.

In this book, Rand finally takes Callandor from the Stone of Tear and announces that he is the Dragon Reborn. This is where we are really introduced to the Aiel. From the harsh area, known as the Waste, they have come to find He Who Comes With The Dawn. We soon find out that Selene is actually Lanfear, one of the Forsaken, and is in love with Lews Therin, Rand, and is willing to save him from dying so they may rule the world together and defeate the Dark Lord.

Rand, Egwene, Mat, Moraine, Lan, and many Aiel go back to the Waste to get to Rhuidean. Rand, Mat, Moraine, and Aviendha all go into Rhuidean. This is were the story gets a little confusing... Mat almost dies by going into a ter'angreal, and Rand somehow gets a sword that he uses to save Mat, and himself later. Mat somehow now knows all of the Old Tongue, and Rand now has fufilled part of the prophecy for He Who Comes With The Dawn.

I guess that's enough with telling the story, but I recommend that you read it. Jordan is a brilliant write who can catch anyone's eye, and for sure has caught mine. I've only made it to book 4 so far, because I still need to buy the others. This is a great book, as are the others in the series that I've read.

Submitted by Shane 
(Aug 30, 2002)

This book is quite unique from its prequels, I think, but its certainly just as good. All 3 angles of it had me totally gripped. Its relatively slow to start off but when it splits into 3 seperate stories it really kicks off. There wasnt one dull chapter in Tanchico and who woulda thought She of all people(Ill try not to spoil it) would get drunk. 'Rhuidean' and 'The Dedicated' were the two best chapters of the book so far. So much barely even asked questions answered. And Perrins trip home was eagerly awaited since the end of book one. If you let the book take you, you may end up screaming "All hail Manatheren" Although it doesnt compete with the climax of the 3rd book or the epic chase of the 2nd it is still one of the best in the series.

Next Page

Page - 1

Sponsor ads



The Terry Pratchett Anywhere But Here, Anywhen But Now First Novel Prize!
05-31 - News
Stephen King's Joyland UK Promotion
05-30 - News
UK Publisher of Stephen King’s New Novel Unusual Promotion
05-30 - News
Big Time, The by Fritz Leiber
05-29 - Book Review
Rogue Clone by Steven L. Kent
05-25 - Book Review
The Blue Blazes by Chuck Wendig
05-21 - Book Review
The Wisdom of the Shire by Noble Smith
05-17 - Book Review

05-10 - News
The Tyrant's Law by Daniel Abraham
05-04 - Book Review
Galaxy's Edge 1 by Mike Resnick
04-28 - Book Review
Poison by Sarah Pinborough
04-21 - Book Review
Bullington, Beukes and Bacigalupi event
04-19 - News
The City by Stella Gemmell
04-17 - Book Review
Promise of Blood by Brian McClellan
04-15 - Book Review
Tarnished Knight by Jack Campbell
04-09 - Book Review
Frank Hampson: Tomorrow Revisited by Alastair Crompton
04-07 - Book Review
The Forever Knight by John Marco
04-01 - Book Review
Book of Sith - Secrets from the Dark Side by Daniel Wallace
03-31 - Book Review
NOS4R2 by Joe Hill
03-25 - Book Review
Fade to Black by Francis Knight
03-13 - Book Review
The Clone Republic by Steven L. Kent
03-12 - Book Review
The Burn Zone by James K. Decker
03-06 - Book Review
A Conspiracy of Alchemists by Liesel Schwarz
03-04 - Book Review
Blood's Pride by Evie Manieri
02-28 - Book Review
Excerpt: River of Stars by Guy Gavriel Kay
02-27 - Article
Tales of Majipoor by Robert Silverberg
02-24 - Book Review
American Elsewhere by Robert Jackson Bennett
02-20 - Book Review
Evie Manieri Guest Post
02-19 - Article
The Grim Company by Luke Scull
02-17 - Book Review
Red Planet by Robert A. Heinlein
02-11 - Book Review

New Forum Posts

About - Advertising - Contact us - RSS - For Authors & Publishers - Contribute / Submit - Privacy Policy - Community Login
Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use. The contents of this webpage are copyright © 1997-2011 sffworld.com. All Rights Reserved.