A Meeting at Corvalis by S.M. Stirling

  (8 ratings)

A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z

Book Information  
AuthorS.M. Stirling
TitleA Meeting at Corvalis
SeriesDies the Fire
GenreScience Fiction
Book Reviews / Comments (submitted by readers)
Submitted by Andy M. 
(Oct 08, 2007)

This book continues the story of the survivors of the "Change", the event that effectively changed the physics of the universe such that electricity and combustion no longer function. The Bear Killers and Clan MacKenzie, the good guys of the series, as well as their various allied groups in the Willimet Valley of Oregon go to full scale war against their powerful neighbours, the Protectorate, a feudal land-grabbing group set on the domination of post-Change Oregon. This book takes place about 6 months after the last. The plot moves forward with the Protectorate attacking the allies on three different fronts. Lots of time is given to young Rudi, son of Bear Killer leader Mike Pavel and Clan MacKenzie chief Juniper MacKenzie, who becomes the main character of Stirling's next series. Needless to say, Stirling still spends an awful lot of time describing the food, weather, clothing, weapons, and other extraneous issues as he does in all of his books, but for me this definitely helps make his world much more real. For others, it can just drag out the story. As far as a post-apocalyptic series goes, this one is certainly pretty darn interesting, although it is quite convenient that so many survived the great die-off with the right skill mix to fully recreate a functioning medieval society. Overall I think this series is quite fun, and look forward to the next, which takes place 12 years after this one.

Sponsor ads