Home Literature Stories Movies Games Comics Blogs News Discussion Forum Art Gallery
  Science Fiction and Fantasy News
Esslemont's Stonewielder Prologue and Cover (07-26)
Deals and Deliveries (9!!!) (09-12)
Iron Man: Femmes Fatales by Robert Greenberger (09-12)
Indiana Jones and the Army of the Dead by Steve Pe (09-12)

Official sffworld Reviews
Big Time, The by Fritz Leiber (05-29 - Book)
Rogue Clone by Steven L. Kent (05-25 - Book)
The Blue Blazes by Chuck Wendig (05-21 - Book)
The Wisdom of the Shire by Noble Smith (05-17 - Book)


Site Index

Book Info    Bookmark and Share

Rise of the Dibor by Christopher Hopper

  (11 ratings)

A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z

Rating (11 ratings)
Rate this book
(5 best - 1 worst)
 
Book Information  
AuthorChristopher Hopper
TitleRise of the Dibor
SeriesThe White Lion Chronicles
Volume1
Year2006
GenreFantasy
 
Book Reviews / Comments (submitted by readers)
 
Submitted by Jake 
(Sep 02, 2011)

No temptation--no sin. Where Adam and Eve had fallen, Ad and Eva stayed strong in the Most High. Evil had failed to reach them, and Morgui, the fallen one, never conquered them.

Enter the perfect world of Dionia, where it is always summer and where temptation is nonexistent.

But even as life goes on, an evil begins to grow in Dionia, an evil that could threaten the entirety of Dionia and those that inhabit it. Slowly, but surely, even the land itself begins to herald the approach and reawakening of evil.

Luik, son of a king of Dionia, must embark on a quest to save his world and become a Dibor, before Dionia follows the fate of the world that has gone before it: Earth.

This is an epic book. There are only so many words that you can say to describe such books. Christopher Hopper weaves an epic saga of life, death, and allegory within the pages of Rise of the Dibor. The description found in this book is breathtaking and vivid--Hopper accurately describes everything in detail, painting a masterpiece in your mind. Be prepared for an amazing ride to all edges of Dionia as boys become men and a battle for the fate of Dionia looms above their heads.

However, keep in mind that there are a number of grammar-related mistakes in this novel, but that is to be expected. All in all, this is an amazing book, one that I highly recommend.


Submitted by Vrenith 
(Mar 22, 2011)

When evil enters the land, Luik, a young boy, must be trained with the other princes to be the Dibor-- warriors. Men everywhere are being taken, taken by the Devil. Luik and the rest of the Dibor must fight, fight for their elders and for the children. They must fight for the Creator. And they do.
Christopher Hopper has wormed his way into my top ten favorite authors list, and I do believe he'll stay there. The book was slightly boring at the first, but I really got into it later on. I loved the characters and the plot, and I highly recommend this book to anyone.


Submitted by Rushingwaters 
(Jun 24, 2010)

The Rise of the Dibor is a skillfully written novel that will delight readers of any age. It contains a wonderful vocabulary and is very appropriate! Fans of Donita K. Paul, JR. Tolkien, Wayne Thomas Batson and C.S. Lewis will love this book The Rise of The Dibor is aimed for teens but this book will be loved by young and old alike


Next Page

Page - 1 - 2



Sponsor ads

 

Latest

The Terry Pratchett Anywhere But Here, Anywhen But Now First Novel Prize!
05-31 - News
Stephen King's Joyland UK Promotion
05-30 - News
UK Publisher of Stephen King’s New Novel Unusual Promotion
05-30 - News
Big Time, The by Fritz Leiber
05-29 - Book Review
Rogue Clone by Steven L. Kent
05-25 - Book Review
The Blue Blazes by Chuck Wendig
05-21 - Book Review
The Wisdom of the Shire by Noble Smith
05-17 - Book Review

05-10 - News
The Tyrant's Law by Daniel Abraham
05-04 - Book Review
Galaxy's Edge 1 by Mike Resnick
04-28 - Book Review
Poison by Sarah Pinborough
04-21 - Book Review
Bullington, Beukes and Bacigalupi event
04-19 - News
The City by Stella Gemmell
04-17 - Book Review
Promise of Blood by Brian McClellan
04-15 - Book Review
Tarnished Knight by Jack Campbell
04-09 - Book Review
Frank Hampson: Tomorrow Revisited by Alastair Crompton
04-07 - Book Review
The Forever Knight by John Marco
04-01 - Book Review
Book of Sith - Secrets from the Dark Side by Daniel Wallace
03-31 - Book Review
NOS4R2 by Joe Hill
03-25 - Book Review
Fade to Black by Francis Knight
03-13 - Book Review
The Clone Republic by Steven L. Kent
03-12 - Book Review
The Burn Zone by James K. Decker
03-06 - Book Review
A Conspiracy of Alchemists by Liesel Schwarz
03-04 - Book Review
Blood's Pride by Evie Manieri
02-28 - Book Review
Excerpt: River of Stars by Guy Gavriel Kay
02-27 - Article
Tales of Majipoor by Robert Silverberg
02-24 - Book Review
American Elsewhere by Robert Jackson Bennett
02-20 - Book Review
Evie Manieri Guest Post
02-19 - Article
The Grim Company by Luke Scull
02-17 - Book Review
Red Planet by Robert A. Heinlein
02-11 - Book Review

New Forum Posts




About - Advertising - Contact us - RSS - For Authors & Publishers - Contribute / Submit - Privacy Policy - Community Login
Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use. The contents of this webpage are copyright © 1997-2011 sffworld.com. All Rights Reserved.