Page 5 of 5

Memory, Sorrow and Thorn by Tad Williams

(25 ratings)

Submit Review / Comment

More reviews by author
A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z

Submitted by T. M. Grone
(Mar 09, 2001)

I know it's almost blasphemy to compare anything to the Lord of the Rings, but I would compare this series. I've never founds characters that I've loved so much as those in the Memory, Sorrow and Thorn sort-of-trilogy. It does start out slowly, but try reading it through and see if it doesn't affect you. I'm not usually a gushy enthusiast, but MST was so good, I had to stand up for it.

Submitted by Madoc Starson
(Dec 18, 2000)

Twice now I have picked up the first book in Williams' "Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn" series, only to find myself wondering what the moderate fuss is about. Frankly, to call this epic fantasy is to insult epics, and fantasy. After reading the first 100 pages all I cared about was how quickly I could recover from the coma-like effects induced by its mind-numbing drudgery. Stick with Otherland.

(May 05, 2000)

Tolkien inspirers us all.  Williams blows all the others away, even Tolkien.  Jordon Goodkind, Brooks, Eddings, MZB, they just don't compare to the depth of character and well paced series that leaves the reader anxious to read more.  Williams transends the usual and predictable Fantasy plots and gimicks.  Tad in a way you anger me because now I just have to continually search for something suitable until your next release.

Submitted by Keyoke
(Feb 11, 2000)

This review has two parts, one is to help Steve with the series, and the other is to let you know that this is one of the best fantasy series I have read. Simply put, I found this to be a truly EPIC series.. Many books who claim to be epic, I read em, and I go...Oh, that was neat.. That's not EPic, epic should leave you speechless..

And, I thought this series did it for me. I simply can't say what a wonderful series this was.. Characters, world, magic, etc, you can't ask for more!

The series goes...Dragon Bone Chair, Stone of Farewell, and To Green Angel Tower (Part 1 & 2)

Submitted by Bookfreak13
(Sep 30, 1999)

Tad Williams is one of the very best authors whose books I have read. His Memory, Sorrow, Thorn series is a
very good example of how well he writes. Not only is each and every character well written, with their own
distinctive attitude, but the plot, the settings, the mood and the atmosphere are all masterfully created,
with scenes that will stick in the reader's mind forever. At first glance, the series looks to be
overwhelming, and at the start it is, but after the first book one can just sink into the world of
Osten Ard and relive what the characters are doing. While a very few of the details in the conclusion
are a bit shaky, it is still a wonderful series.

Page - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5

Sponsor ads