Fantasy from the 1980s

Discussion in 'Fantasy / Horror' started by Sam Allardyce, Oct 1, 2010.

1. Sam Allardyce

Sam Allardyce Registered User

I'm new to the fantasy genre am am looking for recommendations for books published in the 1980s. I am reading Raymond Feist's Riftwar series and enjoying it. I'm open-minded about anything from that era; i.e. it doesn't have to be a literary masterpiece. If a lot of people were reading something back then that is no longer appreciated, that's ok with me. I want to read what people were reading at that time.

2. PeteMC

PeteMC @PeteMC666

Really? Okay, well Wheel of Time started in the eighties if that counts...

The Sword of Shannara series was popular at the time, and still is to a certain extent.

Tanith Lee's Birthgrave and Flat Earth series were (very) 80s

Still, even the Gor series was popular in the eighties (don't go there...) !

3. Eliot Wild

Eliot Wild Registered User

Didn't the DragonLance stories first come out in the eighties? A quick check with Wiki confirms that the first book came out in 1984. And I actually like those books. They certainly aren't 'masterpieces' by any degree, but I thought they were entertaining. Tasslehoff Burrfoot is still one of my all-time favorite fantasy characters.

I only read the very first trilogy though, so I have no idea about the other series the first one spawned. Oh, wait, I take that back. I read one or two novels from a secondary series, something about Raistlin and Caramon, the twin brothers who were so distinctly different from each other. Ehhh, I don't remember that I liked it as much as the first books though.

4. mshnd06

mshnd06 the Rake

Anyone else a soccer/football fan and have a chuckle over the poster's name? Probably entirely coincidental and definitely very tangential but Sam Allardyce is the most unintentionally hilarious and deluded managers in pro sports?