Is it just me .... ?

Discussion in 'sffworld.com comments, feedback...' started by Ozziespur, Jul 19, 2011.

  1. Ozziespur

    Ozziespur Avaricious Aussie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Or is the search function currently on ther blink ?
     
  2. Westsiyeed

    Westsiyeed The Fifth Dominion

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    73
    It's just you!

    ...............................

    ......though sometimes I find it disappears and I just go back to the homepage and/or refresh and it comes back.
    Also I believe if you use Adblock Plus in Firefox you need to disable it on the SFF page.
     
  3. Loerwyn

    Loerwyn Staff

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6,209
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can't say ABP has ever caused me issues on this site.
     
  4. kater

    kater Filthy Assistants!

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    5,545
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    171
    Sorry Ozzie it's just worked fine for me, what browser are you using?
     
  5. PeteMC

    PeteMC @PeteMC666

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,777
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Likewise, so I don't think it's that.
     
  6. Westsiyeed

    Westsiyeed The Fifth Dominion

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    73
  7. Ozziespur

    Ozziespur Avaricious Aussie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's working now ...... but it wasn't there yesterday I swear ! :eek:

    Using IE6 btw, not sure if that's the reason.

    Anyhoo, all good. Thanks guys/gals.
     
  8. Loerwyn

    Loerwyn Staff

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6,209
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Really? I feel I must stress switching to a more recent browser, simply because you're running a massive security risk with something that outdated (Plus it's Internet Explorer). I strongly recommend you try something like Chrome or Firefox.
     
  9. Ozziespur

    Ozziespur Avaricious Aussie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ummm I'm not sure that I could convince Qantas (my employer) to upgrade their computer system .... as I am currently *ahem* working ..... :eek: hehe
     
  10. Loerwyn

    Loerwyn Staff

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6,209
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Eeek. Your tech guys really need to pull their fingers out and get things updated.
     
  11. Ozziespur

    Ozziespur Avaricious Aussie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Like most corporations it's all about the money !!

    We have the worlds slowest systems but we have to grin & bear it unfortunately. We only made 250+ million profit last year so we can't afford these trivial things ....
     
  12. Loerwyn

    Loerwyn Staff

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6,209
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Only, eh? :p
     
  13. Ozziespur

    Ozziespur Avaricious Aussie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What can I say Loerwyn, times are tough !:rolleyes:
     
  14. kater

    kater Filthy Assistants!

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    5,545
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    171
    Windows 2000 won't run anything above IE6 without OS upgrade and such a transition could be time consuming meaning costly, they're probably putting it off as long as possible.
     
  15. Loerwyn

    Loerwyn Staff

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6,209
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    But security! Efficiency! Security!
     
  16. PeteMC

    PeteMC @PeteMC666

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,777
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    83
    We had this with one of our clients a year or so back, it was more a case that their in-house intranet apps wouldn't work with anything later than IE6 and they hadn't got round to recoding everything. Such fun...
     
  17. Loerwyn

    Loerwyn Staff

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6,209
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm sure there's a reason somewhere, it just seems a bit odd, that's all.
     
  18. Ozziespur

    Ozziespur Avaricious Aussie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Believe me when I say, there are many things that are odd in my workplace !