SCOURGE OF THE BETRAYER: First book in a fantasy series

Discussion in 'Promotion Zone' started by Jeff Salyards, Apr 15, 2012.

  1. Jeff Salyards

    Jeff Salyards Registered User

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Jeff Salyards here. I just wanted to thank the SFFWorld folks for giving authors a great platform to crow about their projects and books. I'm not sure about the other authors on the board, but as a debut guy, figuring out how to promote my novel is a little daunting. OK, a lot daunting. So having one more channel to give it a go is greatly appreciated.

    SCOURGE OF THE BETRAYER is the first book in a hard-boiled fantasy series, in the tradition of Glen Cook, Joe Abercrombie, and David Gemmell. SCOURGE comes out May 1, 2012.

    Night Shade Books put together some marketing copy I dig, so I’ll just appropriate it here:

    Many tales are told of the Syldoon Empire and its fearsome soldiers, who are known throughout the world for their treachery and atrocities. Some say that the Syldoon eat virgins and babies–or perhaps their own mothers. Arkamondos, a bookish young scribe, suspects that the Syldoon’s dire reputation may have grown in the retelling, but he’s about to find out for himself.

    Hired to chronicle the exploits of a band of rugged Syldoon warriors, Arki finds himself both frightened and fascinated by the men’s enigmatic leader, Captain Braylar Killcoin. A secretive, mercurial figure haunted by the memories of those he’s killed with his deadly flail, Braylar has already disposed of at least one impertinent scribe . . . and Arki might be next.

    Archiving the mundane doings of millers and merchants was tedious, but at least it was safe. As Arki heads off on a mysterious mission into parts unknown, in the company of the coarse, bloody-minded Syldoon, he is promised a chance to finally record an historic adventure well worth the telling, but first he must survive the experience!

    A gripping military fantasy in the tradition of Glen Cook, SCOURGE OF THE BETRAYER explores the brutal politics of Empire–and the searing impact of violence and dark magic on a man’s soul.


    My website is: http://jeffsalyards.com/
    I’m new to the whole blogging thing, so bear with me as I get my sea legs. I’m sure I'll puke over the rails more than once.

    Here are a few blurbs that might help you decide whether or not to check out the book or my site:

    Scourge of the Betrayer is as harsh and profane as anything Richard K. Morgan or Joe Abercrombie serves up. Fortunately, Salyards has the skills -and the humor - to pull it off. Snappy dialogue, political intrigue, shady characters, gripping action sequences, a poor guy that has no idea what he’s gotten himself into... Yeah, there’s a lot to like about this debut.” -David Anthony Durham, author of The Acacia Trilogy.

    "Scourge of the Betrayer is a fascinatingly lateral take on quest fantasy. The strangely flawed Captain Killcoin and the curiously naive scribe Arkamondos intersect in unusual and interesting ways as they deal with politics, combat and a peculiar costly form of magic. A gripping read, this is a fine opening to a series I'm looking forward to continuing to enjoy."-- Jay Lake, author of Mainspring and Green

    "A tale of terror and bloodshed, set on a fascinating world, told by an interesting narrator. What more could you want?" -- Mike Resnick

    “Gritty, gripping, and layered with surprises.” - Howard A. Jones, author of The Waters of Eternity

    "I've long been a great fan of novels that play and experiment with the standards of fantasy, and Scourge of the Betrayer comes as no exception. Salyards not only executes the tropes of the genre skillfully, but he knows just when and how to surprise the reader by veering AWAY from any expectations we might be developing. Readers of traditional fantasy and sword-and-sorcery definitely should give this one a look; I'm impatient for a sequel already, myself."--Ari Marmell, author of The Conqueror's Shadow and The Goblin Corps

    Thanks again!
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2012
  2. N. E. White

    N. E. White tmso Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,467
    Likes Received:
    208
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Sounds great, Jeff. Good luck!
     
  3. Jeff Salyards

    Jeff Salyards Registered User

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you kindly!
     
  4. Jeff Salyards

    Jeff Salyards Registered User

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  5. Bastard

    Bastard Jack Bauer

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,826
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Very much looking forward to this one, cleaning up my reading pile at the moment to make room for it.
     
  6. Jeff Salyards

    Jeff Salyards Registered User

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow--thanks so much! I've only been waiting to hear someone say that for, oh, decades. ;-)
     
  7. Bastard

    Bastard Jack Bauer

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,826
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm in need of a bigger broom.
     
  8. Jeff Salyards

    Jeff Salyards Registered User

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Spring cleaning time. . .
     
  9. Jeff Salyards

    Jeff Salyards Registered User

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  10. allybee

    allybee New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm really excited about this! I've pre-ordered it at my bookstore already (won't come out til 1st May).
     
  11. Jeff Salyards

    Jeff Salyards Registered User

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks, allybee. I am really excited to hear it!
     
  12. Jeff Salyards

    Jeff Salyards Registered User

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  13. Jeff Salyards

    Jeff Salyards Registered User

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  14. Rob B

    Rob B \m/ BEER \m/ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2000
    Messages:
    10,047
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    173
    Jeff's the real deal folks, I was very impressed by this novel. Once I finish up writing my review, I'll likely post it in about a week.
     
  15. Jeff Salyards

    Jeff Salyards Registered User

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks, Rob. Greatly appreciated!
     
  16. Jeff Salyards

    Jeff Salyards Registered User

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    BTW, Rob, why are you waiting a week?! You're killing me! :)
     
  17. Rob B

    Rob B \m/ BEER \m/ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2000
    Messages:
    10,047
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    173
    1) I've got to write the review.

    2) I like to space out my reviews one per week
     
  18. Jeff Salyards

    Jeff Salyards Registered User

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Makes perfect sense. I was just giving you grief. ;)

    I look forward to reading it whenever it comes out. Thanks again for taking the time to review the book. I really do appreciate it.
     
  19. Jeff Salyards

    Jeff Salyards Registered User

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  20. Jeff Salyards

    Jeff Salyards Registered User

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0