Space Opera recommendations?

Discussion in 'Science Fiction' started by SpiderCrawler, Jan 11, 2012.

1. SpiderCrawler

SpiderCrawler I ate a big red candle.

I'm kind of new to the science fiction genre, and while the ideas interest me, the books usually seem to be lacking in character depth. Do you know of any really good Space Opera books/series that feature strong characters and character development?

Also, I don't want any books that are overtly sexual.

2. Danogzilla

Danogzilla Couch Commander

Just came to search around for some too. I've been in a space opera mood and just ordered Leviathan Wakes, I'm looking for some other titles.

Last edited: Jan 11, 2012
  3. Rob B

Rob B \m/ BEER \m/ Staff Member

4. Danogzilla

5. inishi

inishi New Member

Nevermind, I somehow skipped over the part where you want to avoid anything overly sexual

6. SpiderCrawler

Forgot about that book. Hmm... I'll have to check it out. I wonder how the characters are. Have you read any other space operas?

Thanks! I'll be sure to browse through those lists. Bad things with lists, though, is a lot of times it's just a, well, list... You never know exactly why the books are on the list. Like, what makes them good.

7. Michigan

Michigan Registered User

Just finished Leviathan Wakes two nights ago. Very impressed. It's not quite as big as Hamiltons stuff, Hamilton will throw out a dozen character viewpoints while Leviathan Wakes sticks to two characters throughout the whole book. Peter Hamilton is the next obvious choice for space opera, though there is enough sex in his stuff that it might not be what you are looking for.

8. SpiderCrawler

Another thing that deterred me from Hamilton is all of his books' length: 1,000 pages (!). I don't know if I'd have the patience for one, especially when they all end on cliffhangers.