PDA

View Full Version : Agent or Publisher?????

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Chris G.
June 26th, 2005, 10:48 AM
I have a written a fantasy trilogy. Should I seek an agent or a publisher?

Will the fact that I have written a trilogy in less than a year seem impressive or pretentious (I'm a new/unpublished writer.) and should I mention this in my queries?

Also, this trilogy is just the beginning....I also have about 3 - 4 novels in "pre-planning" one of which I intend to be a chronical. Should this be mentioned as well? My chronical has already been started as I complete proffreads/rewrites of the trilogy.

Word counts are the following:
book 1 = 163,700
book 2 = 163, 100
book 3 = 419,989

Final07
June 26th, 2005, 12:32 PM
Agent. An agent will help get you a publisher. Though there are some here in this forum who know more than me about these matters, so don't count on my opinon too much. :confused:

Rocket Sheep
June 26th, 2005, 08:53 PM
In the US, I'd say agents first... if no bites, rework your ms (you may even have some marketability feedback by then) and try publishers who take ms (not that many) starting with the large ones, working your way down to the tiny independants.

James Barclay
June 27th, 2005, 03:28 AM
It's a really difficult question to answer. My editor will say, if you ask him, that a good writer will inevitably be published. No timescale attached to this, of course but the point is that although an agent may well get your book in front of an editor more quickly, if you are good enough and submit to a publisher directly, you will be picked up. One day.