PDA

View Full Version : Characters & Characterisation

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Umesha Chalanie
November 26th, 2001, 08:05 PM
Characters are probably one of the most important elements in a novel. Often, it is because of them that there is a story in the first place - however, they need not be important for the actual outcome itself to occur, but may be necessary, or perhaps just useful, for the actual story-telling. Characterisation, however, is one aspect of writing that is extremely difficult to master. Characters that are not only believable, but are also consistent in their behaviour and personality are hard to create and harder still to maintain. As I am only a beginner to writing, I'd like to know exactly how a person goes about creating (and, of course, maintaining) such characters - the study, research and practice advice I already know, but other hints would be helpful and appreciated.

[This message has been edited by Umesha Chalanie (edited November 27, 2001).]

Erebus
November 26th, 2001, 09:02 PM
A good question, Umesha!

I guess a lot depends on your imagination and what quirks etc. you can think up for your various characters. I tend to base a lot of my characters on a trait or personality of someone I may know and expand from there.

If you're writing in different character POV then you need to be able to clearly define each personality. This is also helpful if you're writing in first person and really want the reader to get inside your narrator's head!