PDA

View Full Version : Short Story: Comments would be appreciated

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Cedric Frost
January 29th, 2002, 01:02 AM
I attempted to submit this on the site, but I think I must have done it wrong because I don't see it in the list. I would be grateful to read your comments and feedback. This is my first attempt at putting some ideas on paper. I rather enjoyed telling this part of the story, I just don't know what the rest of the story is about yet.

Anyway, thanks in advance for your comments.

PS: To the admins and mods: I apologize if I have gone about this wrong, I am still rather new to sffworld and trying to find my way around. Thanks for your patience.

Prologue: The Moment

Cold.

Straining his eyes to pierce the darkness unfolding around him, he peered intently at the horizon, and then down at the road below. It wouldnít be long now.

Waiting was the most difficult part of the hunt. Perched on the limb of a tree, struggling to stay warm against the biting night air, he had always hated the waiting. But in the waiting was the money. And where there was money, he found his salvation.

It was the jerky movement of the horse that caught his eye first. In the distance, a tiny black spec was growing against the skyline. Not long now.

Time slowed, the cold forgotten, as the man concentrated intently on his prey. He could make out the rider now. Swaying rhythmically to the horses canter, his body balanced precariously on its back. The riderís cloak billowed out over the horseís flanks, and his hood was drawn down masking his face.