PDA

View Full Version : Critique:Writing a Novel-Read my Exerpt and give feedback

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Megris Vernin
August 30th, 2005, 06:52 PM
I am a high school student, and for the heck of it I am going to try to write a nice long scifi novel. I was wondering for some feedback on my style of writing. Here is an exerpt from my latest version of the novel, the first page and a half. So far I am in 30 pages and have been doing it off and on for a month.

If you are interested it is called Galactic Warfare 2-The Limera Conlflict

"In space, all is silent. Neither the destruction of planets nor the death of a million lives makes a sound. The cold darkness of it all creeps in the souls of those that dare cross the void. Their hearts freeze and their minds become lost in the shadows. In the great distances between the life giving stars, death abounds. Those who enter this chasm of silence and nothingness often lose themselves, leaving behind the very thing that gives them life.

Through this abyss of darkness, a ship glided upon the winds of unseen energies. It flew through the chasm between the stars with a force and will unseen anywhere else. It glided through space, zigzagging back and forth. Of all creatures born in this universe, the vessel took the shape of the darkest and cruelest. It was crafted in the image of a giant snake, the antithesis of cold predation and poison. Its hull even gleamed with the scales of the serpent. The rays of distant suns glinted on its shiny skin, reflecting a ghastly green aura around the ship.