View Full Version : Jumping the Gun

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Pages : [1] 2

Merancapeman
September 13th, 2005, 09:21 AM
Do you know why I titled it, "Jumping the Gun"? Because, no matter what I do, I can't rid myself of the feeling that, perhaps, I'm going a little too fast. Now, for intance, I'm wanting to publish a book. However, in such a big world, I'm a little intimidated and, honestly, afraid. I've got 150 pages of solid writing I've been working on and off with for two years, and I'm starting to wonder if anyone is going to like it.

Everyone gets this feeling, I know. Whenever I create something, I'm not afraid to show it, and whenever I get negative feedback I take it in stride and see it as a learning opportunity instead of something horridly malevolent. But how can I know that a publisher will want it? Is it good enough to continue working on? Despite my ever-growing experience, I am at a loss of thoughts.

Peer feedback or critiques may be well and all, but is there a way that one can send a portion (or, in my case, what I have: 150 pages or so) of a book and have it reviewed for worth? Of course, it's difficult to measure worth in art - as all art, be it worthless or not, is art and cannot be rated with money or fame - but according to publishers there is a drawn line somewhere. I'm worried I may not be crossing it, if you get what I mean.

So, in truth, is there anywhere I can send what I have to someone and see if it is publish-worthy? My blood and brain have gone to this project, and I shudder to think what would happen if all that work was kept hidden. I learn more everyday, and one can always make ones writing better, but I would feel comfortable knowing that I have a chance.

Rocket Sheep
September 13th, 2005, 10:19 AM