PDA

View Full Version : Critique: My posted Story

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Timeaisis
September 22nd, 2005, 04:32 PM
Hello everyone. I'm new here and just recently posted two chapters of a story I'm in the middle of writing (sort of). I was just wondering if I could get a critique or two. That'd be excellent.

It's called "Wings of Wax" and it's my first attempt at science fiction.
http://www.sffworld.com/community/story/878p0.html

Thanks alot,
-Timeaisis

choppy
September 23rd, 2005, 06:18 PM
Hi Timeasis,

I don't want to sound like I'm totally tearing into your story. I think there's something here, and I'd encourage you to keep going with it. It seems like you've put a lot of thought into the science behind this, but I'll get to that later.

I think the biggest cirtique point I have is that it seemed to me like you shot yourself in the foot. In your prologue you state that the experiment was a failure and that the pilot disappeared. Then you spend two chapters on what is essentially a bigger verision of the prologue. In my opinion, the suspence in this piece derives from the outcome of the experiment. I'd cut the prologue right out, because on most days, as a reader, I would have picked up something else as soon as I realized that I knew what was going to happen.