PDA

View Full Version : How to introduce a world!?

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Pages : [1] 2

Generalbassist
October 12th, 2005, 10:01 AM
I've been puzzling around with a world(I'm a fanatical world builder) for months now. The world is large and advanced and I'm about to start writing a book set in it, however, I find it hard to introduce he traditions and ways of the world in a "non fact-drop" way. I've been reading a lot of fantasy, and world introduction has been done in many ways. I particuarly like the way Robin Hobb and Scott Bakker does it(with quotes from books in the start of chapters.) and the way Suzanna Clarke used footnotes(which I don't want to use, and generally don't like, but which she used brilliantly)

My problem is that my world is in many ways fundamentaly different from our own and I can't see how I can introduce those things(which are so natural to the characters and unnatural to us) without kind of "telling the people of earth the differences of the worlds"
I would like the world to be introduced by dialogue and thought, but they wouldn't speak of the "obvious" things that are so "not obvious" to us.

Imagine someone reading a story from earth and they don't know what "music" or "family" is.

I definately don't want to start my book with "this story takes place in a world where......."

Any suggestions??

thank you

MrBF1V3
October 12th, 2005, 11:06 AM
Off the top of my head I would suggest just write the story part of the story, add introductions when necessary, then when you go back for the second draft add any details about the world the reader needs to know. The reader won't need to know everything about your world.

B5

qonox
October 12th, 2005, 02:08 PM