PDA

View Full Version : How to Know?

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Rob Anybody
October 13th, 2005, 01:55 AM
G'day guys, I'm a newbie to the site and am also an official reviewer - gotta love it. But my question lies within my fantasy-adventure that I'm writing.

I want to know how to know that your on the right track. How do you know that what your writing is good work and able to be published.

And before the purists yell unclean, let me clarify. I write because I like writing, that's why I have been writing fan-fiction and poems and essays, I haven't received any money yet. But one day I'd like others to read my novels, and yes get the money that comes with that.

Now I'm nowhere near being published, and I most likely might start out by self publishing through Lulu or the Amazon.com one. But I want to know how to get an idea on what the story is shaping up like an what they think should happen.

Any ideas or thoughts would be greatly appreciated,
Rob Anybody

JamesL
October 13th, 2005, 03:35 AM
Probably the best way of determining whether your story is going anywhere is to join an online fantasy/sf writer's group. I can't think of any of off the top of my head but I know there are quite a few knocking about (some of which are free) and there you would hopefully get the feedback you are looking for.

As for self-publishing, I would suggest not resorting to that unless your story is rejected by all of the traditional publishing houses you submit to. Self-publishing gets your story in print, certainly, but it smacks of desperation and most authors that self-publish do so because their work is not good enough.