PDA

View Full Version : Science Fiction writing: How much is too much?

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Pages : [1] 2

kater
November 11th, 2005, 11:49 AM
I've been working on an sf piece for a few months now and I seem to have diverted into mapping out every possible detail rather than writing the story. Everything from how they fix the spaceship I'm using, to what level they eat their meals on. So I was wondering what people's views were on the level of detail and information they like in an sf piece?

Boll Weevil
November 11th, 2005, 12:09 PM
I guess it's enjoyable to framework and understand your world....But I suspect you are putting off the hard work of actually writing the thing. I do similar things, almost any excuse at times to avoid the writing.

Dive right in, use only details that provide veracity and move the story along.

kater
November 11th, 2005, 12:18 PM
That's definitely a part of it but I'm not sure what level of authenticity if you like, that readers require so I guess my question is aimed more at the reading side - do you want to know how the ship is powered, how the hydroponics bay works, how gravity is maintained or are you happy to accept that there just is gravity on the ship. I'm not too worried about writing it, for a change :D, because I have a plan and a lot to write about but I am concerned that I stage the story in the right environment, if that makes sense.

Nosfredatu
November 11th, 2005, 12:38 PM