View Full Version : Critique: the beginning of the first chapter

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

enanu
December 3rd, 2005, 11:46 PM
Hey everybody,

Now, I'm pretty new at this and I understand that I have a lot of things to work out. For this story, I'm still working out the plot, adding/removing things and and doing some much needed research. Right now, I'd just like a general critique about my writing style and the outlook of this partial paragraph/prologue. In general, this first chapter is about the main character (obviously) waiting for the arrival of her uncle. It's just a beginning and is only going to get more elaborate from there. I'm hoping to revise this chapter later so any comments and constructive criticisms will be greatly appreciated. This is my first time writing something other than a research paper and it's going to be a rather interesting experience. Feel free to be as honest as possible. It's really the only way I can improve. Thanks.

Soulweaver
Prologue

Bright, morning sunlight filtered through the windows of my bedroom, piercing my eyes with its sheer intensity. Shading my face with one hand while rubbing the dust off the glass with the other, I peered through the rectangular orifice in anticipation of my uncle's arrival. My stomach fluttered with excitement. Pressing my forehead against the cold panel, I squinted through the glaring light for the specter of a black carriage traveling down the distance of the paved roads of my family's estate. My breath caught in my throat. Not at the sight of my uncle, still unquestionably late, but at the wild, mysterious expanse of Solum. I was intoxicated, drinking in the land's beauty. In the way a man admires a woman, my eyes lingered on every curve, color, and shape of the tantalizing scene.