PDA

View Full Version : Critique: The begining of...something.

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

CharlesFXD
December 4th, 2005, 11:37 AM
Hi everyone. My name is Charlie and this is my very first post.
Well, I am not a writer by trade. I am actually an independent computer game designer. I have a project going right now that takes place in space. Capital ship versus Capital ship. That kind of thing. So, I have read at least 45 sci fi books in the last 2 months or so for reference and ideas. Mostly military science fiction. (ive always read scifi and fantasy but im on a real reading marathon now!)

So, after reading all these books I figured it might be fun to try and write a story based in the universe we are making the game in and I posted it below. Guess what? It was fun!

Anyway, I’ve never written anything like this before. I’m usually writing design documents, ramp up documents, yadda yadda. This was a nice change of pace and I think I’d like to continue with it.

Well, I posted it below to hopefully get some criticism and critiques. I love military sci fi and I'm taking my Army experence and bringing it to the story as best as i can. I know my grammar and punctuation is atrocious. Try to look past that…lol. And I just left it hanging cause that’s all I have so far. Its not much but am I on a good track? Am I making any serious mistakes? Thanks in advance.

Commodore Henderson strode onto the bridge and stood beside the captains’ chair. He was sparkling in his dress whites with gold trim, high roman collar and multicolored cords hanging from his left shoulder. He stuck out like a sore thumb. The rest of the bridge crew were wearing the uniform of the day, the uniform of everyday, their duty blues. The bridge crew pretended to not notice his entry.