View Full Version : Critique Request: Samhain

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

A. Lynn
December 13th, 2005, 03:04 PM
Prepare to be CONFUSED :evillaugh:
Alright, I'm a n00b writer and this is something I was trying to play around with during Nanowrimo (yeah... you can tell I really got that project launch ><)

Anyhoo: This here is the poem prologue

Legend has it we are not alone
And this us humans have always known,
For in the darkness do monsters roam
Within that realm they call they're own.

This darker plane, it mirrors our time.
Mimics our land, and shares our sky.
In this place, only a difference slight;
There is no day, there is no night.

Yet we are sheltered from their avail.
The planes asundered without fail,
Behind the thing they call the Veil.
Or so they say in the old world tale.

But it is certain some believe,
that on this dark, fall-time eve,
the Veil will crumble... sink and reeve...
and let the worlds interweave...

If you like what you see then you may continue the story here :) http://www.sffworld.com/community/story/1121p0.html

Thankyou! A. Lynn

Expendable
December 13th, 2005, 06:36 PM
It's a good story, it's got great flow. There's some misspelled words you should look for but you've painted a clear picture from start to end.
-Ex.

A. Lynn
December 14th, 2005, 12:35 AM
It's a good story, it's got great flow. There's some misspelled words you should look for but you've painted a clear picture from start to end.
-Ex.

Ahh, grammar. Always my bane.. damn you mr. fuzzy pickle man! *shakefist* But I'm glad you like it. ANything you liked or disliked?

AskPik
December 14th, 2005, 01:14 PM
What worked for me:
- The introductory poem was great.
- I like reading from the point of view of a different species.
- You build good suspense as you lead up to the fighting.
- I am eager to find out about the silvery orb.

What didn't work for me: