PDA

View Full Version : Does meditation help you write more imaginative fantasy?

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Pages : [1] 2 3

Sean Wright
January 4th, 2006, 02:28 PM
I know SFF World's very own Gary Wassner meditates regularly. And as any fan of Stars Wars will testify, Master Yoda looks good on it, doesn't he? Did you see him strutting his stuff in Revenge of the Sith? Man, he's one hell of a pliable guy. But seriously, I've been meditating now for almost thirty years. My wife claims I'm always in a state of meditation when I get hooked up to this keyboard, as she tries to communiate but I've left the planet! Or does she claim I'm a zombie? If only I were listening. Anyway, is there anyone out there who also meditates, and does it help you write? Or do you think meditation's a load of New Age, airy fairy, willy-nilly, namby-pamby, headtripping nonsense?

Dawnstorm
January 4th, 2006, 07:18 PM
Lying in the bathe-tub with the lights out helps. That's as close as I get to meditation.

When I read the title ("mediation" outside), I wondered what I would need a mediator for, when writing.

JWREmmett
January 4th, 2006, 08:25 PM
I would avoid writing explicit philosophy. Tolkien avoided that trap.

Sean Wright
January 5th, 2006, 01:18 AM
Lying in the bathe-tub with the lights out helps. That's as close as I get to meditation.

When I read the title ("mediation" outside), I wondered what I would need a mediator for, when writing.

I noticed the typo, tried to change it in the title, but alas it's remained the same. Is there any kind mod out there with the power to erase some not needed mediation for some meditation? :)

kater
January 5th, 2006, 07:29 AM
Consider your happy place restored :D

franjacobs
January 5th, 2006, 07:43 AM