PDA

View Full Version : What Does It Really Mean To B Happy?

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

gibran
January 26th, 2006, 05:45 AM
hi all , i am a poetess and a teacher,just thinking abt what answers can i get,what is it that makes us happy,does writing ,or going through such pains as v go through to share our worlds with others,worth any gain when sooner or later it all has to end anyway?

JWREmmett
January 26th, 2006, 04:31 PM
“Art is a kind of innate drive that seizes a human being and makes him its instrument. To perform this difficult office it is sometimes necessary for him to sacrifice happiness and everything that makes life worth living for the ordinary human being.” - Carl Jung

JWREmmett
January 26th, 2006, 04:40 PM
By the way here's some great books on creativity and the creative process... http://www.books4selfhelp.com/creativity.htm

choppy
January 26th, 2006, 06:25 PM
Gibran,

I see two questions.
1) What is it about writing that makes us happy?
2) Is the art worth the sacrifice?

To answer the first question, I would say that there are many aspects about writing that I derive enjoyment from. These include:
- researching subjects that I know little about and thereby expanding my knowledge base and overall education
- organising my thoughts on a variety of topics
- studying human nature
- fantasizing about exotic locations, or deeds or feats I could never accomplish in real life (and in some cases wouldn't want to)
- solving problems
- facing my fears in a controlled situation
- studying myself
- entertaining and educating others

As to the second question, if it makes you happy, then absolutely it's worth it. Even if "sooner or later it all has to end" I try to take heart in that writing is all about both the inception, and more often, the propagation of ideas - non-physical things that certainly affect the physical world.