SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Pages : [1] 2

Reginald Gordon
February 5th, 2006, 03:50 AM
Greetings,

I hope that this is the appropriate place and method for doing this, since I've seen some other critique requests done here.

Under the name 'James, M. Bryan' I have posted the first three chapters of the novel I'm working on. I currently have a lot more done, but I am considering three things.

I've never done anything like this before (i.e., sharing my work with strangers). I'm both skeptical and nervous, but this piece means a great deal to me, and I feel that stamping my fears and asking for advice will help my growth as a writer (and hopefully, someday, an author).
I need to learn to take all forms of criticism to heart, as well as with a grain of salt.
I need to know if I'm in over my head. I've "practiced" writing for many, many years, and if I'm no good at it, I think I want to know that now.

Any and all insight/help/advice is appreciated.

Dawnstorm
February 5th, 2006, 07:05 AM
Statistically, you get more replies if you provide links. ;)

Chapter 1 (http://www.sffworld.com/community/story/1235p0.html)

Chapter 2 (http://www.sffworld.com/community/story/1236p0.html)

Chapter 3 (http://www.sffworld.com/community/story/1237p0.html)

I've read the first paragraph of chapter one, and your language has the kind of flow that might draw me in, so I'm pretty sure, I can relieve you on this account: "3. if I'm no good at it, I think I want to know that now." Definitely, go on writing.

Don't have much time now, but I'll be back later reading more and with (hopefully) more helpful comments (if I remember to :o ).

Expendable
February 5th, 2006, 09:56 AM
Dawnstorm's right - helps if you give us links (but few new people know how to create the links) and the flow in chapter one's great.