PDA

View Full Version : Critique - opening for the umpteenth rewrite of newbies first book.

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

sfxfantasy
February 13th, 2006, 09:28 PM
Hi,
I'm new to writing and have been rewriting my books over and over again, trying to get it right.

Does this work as the opening for my first book?

-----------------------
Heart racing, lungs about to burst, an athletic young woman clothed in a long, intricate white gown fled for her life. Sarah dared not look back. Her merciless captors were after her. Pursuing her relentlessly.

She strained her eyes trying to find her way through the tunnel. It was lit solely by the moonlight that seeped through the holes in the old stone brick roof.

She slipped on the worn stone brick ground and fell over the bones of another prisoner. Her rough strong hands broke her fall.

The revolting stench of death hung in the still air. She shuddered at the thought of the repulsive creatures that had eaten the flesh and skin of this prisoner.

“Ssssaraaahh.. Ssssaraaahh..”
The hissing voices of her captors filled the air. “There issss no essscape..”

Emerging from the tunnel, her large, brown, soulful eyes darted around the immense courtyard. Looking for the best way to escape. From the corner of her eye, she saw a pile of half eaten human corpses. A warning to those who dare try to escape.

Adrenaline pumping through her veins, she ran. Her short brown hair bouncing with every step.
She sprinted as fast as her lean muscular legs could carry her. Still, she was no match for the Ven’eelgs that pursued her.

“Where are you going Ssssarah?” asked a Ven’eelg. “The masssster wantsss you,” it hissed menacingly.

They reached for her. Slithering towards her, faster than she had anticipated.

A Ven’eelg sprang up towards her, hissing furiously, spitting out a lethal black venom at her.