PDA

View Full Version : Help! Sci-Fi coursework!

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

melly_the_elf
March 4th, 2006, 01:14 PM
Hey everyone!

I am studying the genre and narrative of science fiction for my film studies coursework! I get to choose one 10 minute sequence from a film or two 5 minute sequences from two different films. I have decided to use one sequence from star wars attack of the clones, where Obi-Wan and Anakin chase the assasin (of amidala)through the metropolis city and ends before they enter the nightclub. I am really stuck on what to say! I dont know where to start! i know i can say about the visual effects and location, but what else?

I was planning to do my other sequence from blade runner, but i am not sure again what sequence to do! It has to be one that shows science fiction at its best!

I hope anyone can help!

Mel

Ouroboros
March 4th, 2006, 02:46 PM
The Anakin / Obi Wan scene from 'Attack of the Clones' is a pretty odd choice. If you're dead set on doing it, then the angle I'd take is to go a bit further and look at what happens when they enter the bar. Explore it as a reworking of the Mos Eisley scene from the original 'Star Wars: A New Hope'.

The common denominator in both scenes is Obi Wan Kenobi. Both times he is forced to resort to violence. The obvious difference being that in the prequel he is there as an agent of the establishment, and in 'A New Hope' he is as much an outlaw as the denizens of the bar.

If you're set on looking at the chase scene, then the only really interesting angle I can think of would be for you to explore how Lucas included buildings in the backdrop of the city which are based on well-known international architectural triumphs.

As for the Blade Runner scene, I'd recommend comparing and contrasting the ending of the Director's cut of the movie versus the cinematic releases' ending.