PDA

View Full Version : Critique: First Chapter feed back please!

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Pages : [1] 2

Caliena
March 21st, 2006, 12:20 AM
This is the first chapter of a teen fantasy novel I have been working on for about 6 months now (it is my first attempt at writing). I would like some feedback-honest feedback. This is my first novel and I just want to see how I am doing and what other people think.

Expendable told me earlier that I should put it on the Community section so I have. And I tweeked it alittle. Any feedback is greatly appreciated. Thanks for your time.

Chapter 1 (http://www.sffworld.com/community/story/1375p0.html)

Expendable
March 21st, 2006, 01:55 AM
Hi, welcome to SFFWorld.

The next time you need something critiqued, please post it in the Community section, you can sign up for it by clicking on the Stories tab.

Your story has an interesting begining, her sneaking out with her father's horse trying not to be followed by 'Them', whoever they are. A good hook to grab the reader with. We're unsure if the mysterous 'Them' are body-guards or someone trying to restrain her, for her own safety or some hidden goal of theirs we don't know.

As she exited the Royal forest she started to lose her courage, she’d never gotten this far before. Perhaps They weren’t the only ones who underestimated her. “Maybe I should just stop” She thought. “They’ll only catch me and then what will Father say?”
How can you show her losing her courage? Does she look back nervously? Cry out at every strange noise? Talk to her father's horse? Have butterflies in her stomach? Pausing for a moment on the trail?

Also, a royal forest is rather generic, so you don't have to capitalize the R. There should also be a comay between 'stop' and '" she thought.' She also doesn't need to be capitalized.