PDA

View Full Version : Critique: Start Of A Story

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Alex123
April 28th, 2006, 06:03 PM
This is the first page or so of a fantasy novel I'm having a go at.

Never done this kind of thing before but I just love to write stuff and thought this maybe a good project.

Basically, I just wanted to post what will become either the beginning of my First Chapter or maybe the prologue and see what you guys make of it...

Any constructive critisisms and advice is very welcome. Pointers and tips are great because this is my first attempt. Hopefully you have a few encouraging thoughts too :p

Here goes...

Chapter 1

A heavy mist was descending upon the dark, distant mountains of XXXXX. The air was still and the silence only broken by the low humming of lurking night time creatures and insects, crawling hurriedly across the wasteland. A mass of shadow engulfed the land, leaving only a solitary patch of oddly glimmering light illuminating two robed figures.

The shorter of the two, standing on the left, had a high jaw line and very pronounced cheek bones which created an eerie contrast to his eyes, which were sunk back deeply inside his head. His face showed every sign of a man worn down by stress and anxiety. From the fearful looks he was casting at the second figure, to his hunched over stance and crooked physique; fatigue, exhaustion and terror were etched in to his very being, pouring from within him so that he almost had the illusion of emitting a dark glow everywhere around his outline.