View Full Version : New fantasy book?

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Pages : [1] 2 3

Aelden
May 7th, 2006, 12:09 PM
I'm a part-time writer, and I have come up with a story line for a sci-fi/Fantasy story, similar to "A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court." The plot is, a Russian or German mercenary from the present day is brought back in time through the witchcraft of a Celtic shaman. When he was taken back in time, he was still holding all of his weapons, and a backpack full of ammunition. When he gets taken back in time, the Celts ask him to lead their armies against the Viking hoards who keep raiding their villages, taking women, gold, killing men and children, and burning their homes. When he refuses, the shaman tells him that he'd send him back to his own time if he'd help them. In short, he does (in the meantime running out of ammunition), he falls in love with a Celt woman of the time, the shaman tries to send him back, he doesn't want to, and in the famous way of "fairy-tales." They get married and live happily ever after.

Please tell me if this seems to be a good story line, unalike enough from "A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court" to not be considered a clone. If it sounds interesting to you, or if you have any suggestions please post to this.

-----Aelden-----

choppy
May 7th, 2006, 04:05 PM
There's nothing wrong with the idea, Aelden. I'm sure it could work. A lot would depend on the telling.

A couple thoughts you may want to address:
(1) If you have a shaman powerful enough to send a warrior through time, why can't he solve his own problems?

(2) What weapons would this character have that would make him more useful against a horde than the regular villagers? A single machine gun can only do so much.

tracyt1800
May 7th, 2006, 04:34 PM
Although the initial concept is similar to ACYIKAC, you can make the story your own.