View Full Version : Just Started

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Pages : [1] 2

eireace
June 23rd, 2006, 04:56 AM
I've just started writing a novel, its a sci-fi one but im concentrating mainly on human characters. I've not thought all my ideas through yet and the whole thing remains very much a work in progress. This is my first attempt, im 17, and have wanted to write a novel for ages. the reason for this post is to ask for any tips on how to make this work. Im writing sci-fi as i mentioned, all i know on the subject has come about through you know reading other novels, watching films, shows etc. (Star Wars, etc.) Obviously then my own ideas have similarities to those things, how do i avoid going down a track that would lead to my book being to similar to differentiate from the likes of Star Wars etc. Like to point out a fantasy example, i read Lord of the Rings(MY FAVOURITE BOOKS) and then later Terry Brooks Shannara Series. The similarities are unbelievable eg. small questing party against overwhleming odds, Druid Allanon = Gandalf, valemen= hobbits, always a dwarf and elf and warrior with them.

kegasaurus
June 23rd, 2006, 09:35 AM
The only way i could help is to say don't put it on a grand scale and tell teh story from failures point of view. That being said, failure witnessing success.

KatG
June 23rd, 2006, 05:04 PM
1. Tolkein and the Shanara series are from a different time, don't worry about them.

2. Repetition of elements is par for the course. You have nearly 100 years of sf writing to deal with. If you obsess about doing something nobody has done before, you'll go mad.

3. That being said, read as widely as you can, preferably present day writers, but get in a few sf classics too. These do not simply tell you ideas that have been done before, since ideas can be revisited; they give you an idea of the kind of things you can do with story ideas.