View Full Version : Critique: Warrior Writer

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

One_Man_Band
July 1st, 2006, 02:44 AM
Here it is, hope you enjoy!

It started quietly and discreetly, we had no inkling of what was to come. They took us by surprise. Their actions worked with horrifying efficiency, our defenses lasted for mere minutes. Their armada landed on our planet, their soldiers flowed out of the ships like a river torrent down its bed. They want our planet, we want it back. We are the Warriors of Earth, defending what is ours, destroying what is not.

I am Captain John Murphy, a soldier in Earths Army. I used to be a writer a lifetime ago until duty called. My planet needed me, my publisher did not.

“Ok man here they come, fire at will.” I shouted down the trench line

With that order, a wall of fire erupted upon the advancing Reds. They fell by the dozens, but were reinforced by the hundreds. I commanded a trench with 200 men, my orders were to hold for as long as possible.

The reds landed all over the world, but chose my country to fall first. I call Australia home, so do many, well there won’t be many left after all is said and done. One can only speculate why the Reds picked Australia to attack first, my hunch is after they take Australia they will move into to Indonesia the gateway to Asia.

“Sir, look!” A private pointed to the sky.

A Red attack ship was hovering above the Trench, the mammoth vessel silhouetted against the afternoon sky. I jumped onto the mobile com, and requested a wing of F-209’s to attack the ship. My request was granted, the F-209’s sometimes known as Panther class attack fighters, because of their black exterior and incredible speed and agility. The panthers were two minutes away, however the Red ship started dropping concussion pulse bombs on top of us, the bombs were not designed to kill rather immobilize.