PDA

View Full Version : Writing and Character Development

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

John Karnay
October 3rd, 2006, 03:48 AM
I decided to start this thread based on my recent return to writting. I'm a published author and have been working recently to complete some stories for publishing again.
It's been a strange few years since I put it down and I really feel like now is a good time to rekindle my writting. I write lyrics/music for my band Noiseland. (www.noiseland.us) I have found that while both music and literature have many similar things in common, the over all experience is extremely different. Music tends to have instant gratification in it's creative license; an Idea comes to mind and if you know how to play your instrument well enough the idea manifests itself, instantly. You can hear it, and deternmine if you like it or not. And of course from there you can improve and add to it, but it's very spontaneous.
Writting fiction on the other hand, (Especially where novels or serials are concerned) is much more bottlenecked in it's progress. Stories require interesting and intriguing characters that need to be developed over time. A reader needs to become aquainted with the characters in your stories, without the benefit of their senses. That development must also be paced in accordance with plot of the story you are trying to tell. And all this must be done with out stereotyping your characters' personalities.