View Full Version : Critique: My First Attempt

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Pages : [1] 2 3

grechzoo
January 20th, 2007, 06:12 PM
Its my first ever attempt at writing anything really. I only just got into reading six months ago and before then I hated writing in english exams etc. but now I love reading and i'm inspired by some of the books i have read, so I wanted to try it.

This is kind of a prologue chapter, so a lot of the plot will be unclear, but it will be explained more in the forthcoming chapters. Of which I will write one a week (unless I cant write, then I wont bother :)).

So while I appreciate help with grammar, structure and other rules I might be missing, I would really be grateful for your overall thoughts on the chapter and whether you think I have any talent that can become better over time.

Since im a first time writer, who hated english in school when he was younger, I imagine there will be many errors and such, so try not to review it as an examiner, but rather as a reader. :)

http://www.sffworld.com/community/story/2257p0.html

EDIT: FEB 19TH

http://www.sffworld.com/community/story/2302p0.html

the second chapter is now done, This chapter may be tagged onto the end of this previous chapter and put together as a prologue. then the following chapter will be in the future.

anyway i need help on this like i received great help for the first chapter.

took a while because of illness and university work.

really hope you like it :)

------

thanks so much.

Idris

Jacquin
January 20th, 2007, 06:37 PM
I'll post more when it isn't one in the morning but yes, you have what it takes.

It needs work, there is some unnecessary descriptive text and some areas could do with fleshing out but you have the beginnings of a decent story there.

J

grechzoo
January 21st, 2007, 06:34 AM