View Full Version : Doing away with genres

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Pages : [1] 2

papajoev
February 9th, 2007, 10:10 AM
I'm a writer who has a tendency to mix genres. For example, my Morgaine series of eBooks actually started out as hard SF, went into to dark fantasy (horror?), the occult, robots, aliens, biblical references, mysteries etc., etc. with love stories and a tiny bit or erotica thrown for good measure. It never seemed to fit the usual genre definitions. I'd like to know why we need all these genres and subgenres anyway. What are your thoughts?

jallenw
February 9th, 2007, 03:59 PM
Writers usually hate genres. At least I do. I have a story to be told and it usually can't be described with just 2 words.

My book, Love Eternal is 'Fantasy' but should be called a Speculative Teen Romance Fantasy for women. It also has a small splash of religious themes.

Genres exist for the benefit of readers and booksellers. Libraries and Bookstores would be terribly confusing if we did not have genres. Readers would not be able to easily find the types of books that they might be interested in.

As such, genres will always exist and we writers will always complain.

Peace,
J. Allen Wentworth

papajoev
February 9th, 2007, 04:26 PM
As I a reader of SF and fantasy myself, I appreciate that bookstores put all these books on one shelf. What disturbs me is that eBook publishers and other online publishers are now subdividing genres in endless subgenres, such as "vampire stories with a paranormal twist and cheerful romance." Ah well, I guess we must grin and bear it and send our stories and novels to whomever seems a likely buyer.

Jacquin
February 9th, 2007, 05:16 PM