View Full Version : Workshopping for Fun and Profit

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Pages : [1] 2

James Carmack
March 22nd, 2007, 07:52 PM
I've been offering to workshop a lot of people's stuff lately and I thought it'd be a good idea to lay out my terms. If nothing else, I can direct people to this thread when I make my offers.

"Who are you and why should I care?"

My handle and my name are one and the same. Makes it pretty easy, don't you think? I'm just a simple author who likes to help his fellow wordsmiths. Whether you want my help or not is up to you.

What I'm offering is intensive workshopping. That means I'll be going through your work line-by-line, doing my darnedest to catch errors syntactical, grammatical and typographical. I'll also be checking continuity, weeding out non sequiturs and doing what I can to ensure your narrative and dialog are both naturalistic and consistent.

The "profit" in the thread's title is a touch misleading. I'm not so venal that I'd charge for lending a helping hand. The profit will be on your end. Even the best writer needs a good second set of eyes to comb through his work. No matter how good you are, there's always something you miss.

If you want me to workshop your piece, all you need to do is ask. I do have a full-time job and projects of my own, but I'll try to get the job done as soon as possible.

The first step is to ask for my help. I'm not likely to turn you down, no matter how green you are or how much your manuscript might make my eyes bleed.

The second step is to submit your manuscript to me in RTF (that'd be Rich Text Format) at james@palidormedia.com.

The third step is to consider my edits and suggestions once you get the manuscript back and vigorously defend anything you disagree with or think I'm misunderstanding.