View Full Version : Medieval Setting in Fantasy

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Pages : [1] 2 3

dragoncd
March 26th, 2007, 08:46 AM
So my new thread for the week (sort of) is to discuss the medieval setting in general that most fantasy novels rely on. Granted there are different perspectives from different authors, but largely the medieval setting is relied heavily upon in most period fantasy.

I would classify the medieval time in the novels as pre-enlightenment (and I am not an expert on the true historical facts about real history), but typically you will have a King, a Kingdom (Monarchy), a few large cities, small backward villages, agrarian way of life, not as much industry or "high" technology, edged weapons (maybe gunpowder), you get the idea.

What I propose would be a medieval society with some advancements of enlightenment and a larger business focus to the world. I would keep elements of medieval society such as the predominant farming culture, edged weapons (no gunpowder), but I would have larger Towns/Cities, required Tax offices and official Record keeping offices in each Town. A King/Kingdom, but the King is responsible to a "board of directors" or advisors, and follow the idea through in that manner.

Any thoughts/extensions/ideas?

KatG
March 26th, 2007, 11:27 AM
So my new thread for the week (sort of) is to discuss the medieval setting in general that most fantasy novels rely on.

A major amount of fantasy fiction does not employ a medieval setting at all, but a contemporary one. Period fantasy is historical fantasy, and the bulk of historical fantasies -- those set in our actual history -- don't employ a medieval setting either.