PDA

View Full Version : Critique: this is my first attempt.

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Pages : [1] 2

U-Borat
May 18th, 2007, 08:19 AM
Hi, Iíve always been interested in writing, but have been too busy with other stuff. Iíve been an avid reader for half a dozen years though. Now I have a short story or sorts which I want to act as my prologue to a larger full length novel (which will be my hsc 4U English work for those in nsw).
So yeah, Iíd appreciate any comments/feedbacks on my story. It reads like junk, but I donít know how to refine it....

So hereís the link:

http://www.sffworld.com/community/story/2444p0.html

James Carmack
May 19th, 2007, 04:50 PM
Well, let's get right down to business, shall we? You've got a decent story here, but it's a good thing you're aiming on making this a part of a full-fledged novel as there's more plot going on here than the current container can handle. A short really can't support two leads very well and herein lies the main problem with this piece. Who's story is it? The Seventh Squad's or Elezar's? It really can't be both. You establish the 7th first, so they're who we identify as our protagonists. Elezar should be just a side chara, but he ends up eclipsing our supposed leads in the end. There's not enough room to tell both stories well. You either stick with the 7th or you stay with Elezar.

One thing that really bugged me was your use of numerals. As a general rule, you should always write out numbers less than ten. I would go further and say that any number three syllables and under should be written out. That goes for ordinals, too. Ergo, for starters, our initial protagonists should be written as "Seventh Squad".

Your dialog tags were wonky, too, but I see this a lot. I think I'm going to make up a guide so I don't have to retread this issue for every author I deal with. I'll post the link when I have it made.