PDA

View Full Version : Introducing new characters

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

gh0ti
July 3rd, 2007, 05:21 PM
I have a small conundrum with the project I am trying to push towards completion. The story I am writing is the first part of a much longer work, but I need to introduce two characters of vital importance in Parts 2 and 3 without them meeting my protagonist for the vast majority of Part 1. Now, I am a hobby writer, but I care passionately about character - I hate it when authors introduce major players without allowing the reader to become properly accustomed to their role in the story.

The solution I have been using is to write the story in a structure similar to Martin, with chapters told from the perspective from a core of characters. Unfortunately, to keep the pace and the plot coherent, the characters posing the problem appear around chapter 7, run until about chapter 12 and then do not reappear again until the closing chapters (the story isn't finished yet, but I'm guessing the book will run about 20 chapters). Is this poor storytelling or what? Is there another solution that wont require a complete plot overhaul?

The prologue of the story is at http://www.sffworld.com/community/story/2511p0.html, feedback appreciated!

choppy
July 3rd, 2007, 07:05 PM
I'm not sure I understand the problem. In general, you don't need to have every character on the forefront of the reader's conscious through the entire story. What I think you're trying to avoid is the "character deus ex machina" - where someone important spontaneously appears only when needed.