PDA

View Full Version : Just posted the prologue, critique please?

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Dire
July 25th, 2007, 09:49 AM
Deleted due to a redo. Had some useful critique so I'm going to restart from a different angle.

Shane
July 25th, 2007, 11:43 AM
I'm new to critiquing (at least when it comes to stories online), so it's okay.

First, right off the bat, there are a few misspellings in your story that could have been easily corrected had you run it through a spell checker, which you can find pretty much in every decent writing program in existence these days. It's not like regular internet posting where it's okay if you have typos or obvious spelling mistakes, you need to show that you've taken the time with your story writing to at least bust out the really obvious mistakes.

As far as dialogue goes, your characters don't really convince me that they're real people. They don't talk like real people talk. They talk like they're in a bad medieval soap opera, where every word needs to be articulated like they're talking for the sake of the audience rather than simply having a conversation between each other.

The biggest problem with this story is that you have six pages of prologue and I, as a reader, have absolutely no idea what your book is about. All I can gather is that there's a possible alien invasion of some kind of weird kingdom with city gates and crap. You need to be able to let me know what's going on right from the getgo, from the very first page, hell, from the first sentence, let me know what I'm getting myself into. Your first sentence lets me know that your story probably takes place in another time, in another place, and it might be about Halren and his "sibling."