PDA

View Full Version : New story - Tyrons' Star (Critique)

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Dire
August 5th, 2007, 07:01 PM
Hey guys, this is my second story beginning what I'm working on.

I'd really appreciate ANY kind of critique that you guys can offer. I'm fairly new to writing so anything with help give me direction so I can develop my ideas into a great read. ;)

Please give it a read, its only short, and tell me what you think.

http://www.sffworld.com/community/story/2578p0.html

Dromed
August 6th, 2007, 05:08 AM
It was ok. The piece was descriptive enough to give me the freedom to imagine the scene in my own way. You didn't over-do it.

It could flow a lot better though with some tidying and clarity. Restructure sentences to make them clearer to read. Better word choice throughout could further help the scene too.

As an example, your choice of word 'whisper' didn't seem like the right one to me. The word implies that the other people in the bar are keeping to their secretive selves by talking in hushed tones. If the bar occupants are whispering then Oro must have some supernatural ability or high-tech aid if he could choose to hear them.

Perhaps the above was your intent (We are SF/F after all). The fact that I doubt that was your intent suggests that the meaning wasn't made clearly enough, or ‘whisper’ was just the wrong word to use.

Another example

The man stood up and pulled on his jacket. "You have three minutes to come out, or those friends of mine will be coming in, for you," he said. He took the second glass of liquor and downed it, before leaving the bar.