View Full Version : Looking for a narrative

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Deckard-6
March 2nd, 2010, 11:38 AM
Hi all,

I am so glad I found this forum! Apart from instantly bugging you with a question I intend to spend a lot of time here, reading all the best-of-lists and recommendations thoroughly. Although I am not exactly looking for something I have lost, I still considered this sub-forum the best place for it, for you could say I’m am looking for something, just not one particular novel, but rather a narrative.

I am a student of Comparative Literature with a recently developed interest in science fiction and have sought to inject this interest into my studies. However, because this is a rather recent interest I do not have the kind of science fiction repertoire I would have liked. For an upcoming paper I would like to discuss a certain science fiction narrative and I was hoping you could recommend me some novels which correspond to this narrative.

What I am looking for is, I believe, already a quite traditional science fiction trope; humanity is at peril due to some external threat—for example an alien race or a global virus—and it realizes that this threat goes beyond the national borders; that if it wants to overcome this threat it is to unite. So from this threat stems a realization of interconnectedness which goes beyond nationality, ethnicity, gender, etc, because the peril of that external threat transcends those categories.

Now, I already intend to use Battlestar Galactica, which, although it isn’t a novel suits my purpose prefectly, and I have recently purchased Jem by Frederik Pohl but now, after reading some reviews, I am not quite sure this is exactly what I am looking for.