PDA

View Full Version : What do you think of my prologue?

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

OgreWolf
July 9th, 2002, 04:14 PM
Hello!

This is my first time posting here, seems cool.

Well, I just wondered if anyone might read the prologue to my might be book, and tell me what you think.

Download it here (http://home.online.no/~aulvesta/)

I should mention that this is my first attempt at writing a novel, and that my native language is not english but norwegian.

Håkon (OgreWolf) Ulvestad

LePeze
July 9th, 2002, 04:24 PM
Well, I loved ur prologue. It made me laugh and I wanted to know what was going to happen next. :D

I can't comment on the structure of ur sentences and the use of words because I suck pretty hard at English.

Keep up the good work!

manticore
July 9th, 2002, 08:37 PM
liked it. though lepezes post made me think there was a hugely comic twist somewhere, which i searched for in vain. but i liked your prologue and would have read on gladly.

Erebus
July 9th, 2002, 09:20 PM
I have read your piece, Ogrewolf, and if English is not your native tongue then you have done quite well indeed!

Your sentence structure is a little clumsy in parts and the dialogue I found a little stilted as well, but this is most likely due to the language barrier etc. As to the story itself, I have to admit that I was somewhat confused with the link between the two scenes, and how they related to each other. Perhaps you need to work on this a little to ensure you keep the readers' interest.

I did enjoy your usage of the leaf metaphors, and perhaps this is a theme you can continue with throughout the story. But, as a prologue to a larger work, I found it just a tad confusing and perhaps not quite compelling enough to make me want to read further.

This is just my opinion of course, and others may see it differently, but I hope my feedback helps.

OgreWolf
July 10th, 2002, 06:28 AM