PDA

View Full Version : Video Games as as storytelling medium

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

GarrickW
October 10th, 2010, 05:07 AM
So I've been thinking a bit lately about how stories are told in video games (I'm a PC gamer in particular), and about the quality, immersion and enjoyment of these stories. I've not played any of the classics that are constantly referenced - like Zelda, for example - but I've been gaming since around 2003, and I've had a fair bit of experience with games since then.

I was wondering if anyone would like to discuss theirexperience with games as stories - not the gameplay or the graphics, but the tale being woven. I don't just mean stories you've enjoyed, but also stories that stuck out as being particularly corny or poor. Also, on a more general level, what do you think are the strengths and weaknesses of video games as storytelling? Obviously, games don't exist purely for storytelling, so some narrative elements may suffer in favor of gameplay - but others may not, or may be enhanced.

One of my personal favourite gaming studios is Bioware (I've played their Mass Effect, Dragon Age: Origins, Jade Empire, and Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic). These are heavily RPG games; of course most of the interactive gaming is combat, but I find Bioware games have a comparatively heavy emphasis on dialogue and storytelling. The storylines are branching, but sometimes I felt that the branching was illusional - in effect, the story remains the same regardless of how you play, with a few key points being different here and there (especially with regards to the ending).