PDA

View Full Version : Those Incorrigible Borg

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Cygnus
August 2nd, 2002, 04:19 PM
I swear I must be the Queen of Lame Posts, but I just can't help it. Someone has to create the balance so all those intelligent and thought-provking posts seem so much more meaningful!

Anyway, I am a big Next Generation and Voyager (go ahead and boo, it won't phase me!) fan, but there is something that drives me crazy about both. Everyone knows that the Borg can adapt their little body shields or whatever to phaser fire within about two shots, yet in all the episodes and movies, people are always firing at them. Wouldn't this be an excellent time to revert to some "oldies but goodies" as far as weapons go? I imagine a cross-bow would work quite well. I'm no expert on swords, but I can see that being effective as well. It just seems stupid that all anyone carries into a fight with the Borg are phasers.

Ahhh.. I feel so much better now that I have that out.

ChrisW
August 3rd, 2002, 08:27 AM
umm just normal guns with bullets work. No need to use bows and swords.

estranghero
August 3rd, 2002, 09:57 AM
LOL Cynus, that's true. Wonder why nobody at Voyager ever thinks of that.

Unless you have to hit the right spot on a Borg body? Do Borg have vital parts to hit?

Cygnus
August 3rd, 2002, 12:41 PM
Do they have guns and bullets in the era of Voyager and Star Trek? I don't think I've ever seen one used. I guess I just like the visual image of Picard loping off a Borg head with a giant sword. More dramatic that just shooting. As for vital areas.. I don't know. I've seen episodes where they get killed with those big Kligon blades, so I guess if you get through their suit, you can kill them.

I can't believe I'm actually having this discussion. :)

Loque
August 11th, 2002, 10:45 AM