PDA

View Full Version : Story Problems

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Gagged Man
August 23rd, 2002, 08:54 PM
Hello, forum newbie here. Umm, I just got a short story I submitted posted and since nobody has sent me any feedback yet (**I want to be loved**) I was wondering if anybody in this fine forum would lend a hand. You can find it here:
http://www.sffworld.com/authors/v/vu_nk/fiction/italwaysrains1.html

Please help, it's my first story and I really want to get better.
Thanks,
The Gagged Man

Jacquin
August 24th, 2002, 08:46 AM
Ok I read it.

In general I liked it, it most certainly has potential. I feel that it is a little jumpy though and could do with a little more description about what is going on and where Parker is.

I realise the style is purposefully done to let the reader know the type of person Parker is but to be honest I didn't click with him. In fact I didn't click with the whore either. IMHO if you give a little more detail about him it will work a lot better. I find it dificult to read a story where I don't like any of the characters and I'm sure others are the same.

That being said I would read more if it were there.

I take it you are a 'Gunslinger' fan?

J

Gagged Man
August 25th, 2002, 03:12 AM
Thanks for your feedback, I'll keep making improvements etc. (maybe re-submit the story or something later).

Gagged Man

Forrest
August 25th, 2002, 08:48 PM
I thought it was well done. The writing was crisp, focused, and disciplined, without losing the ability to effectively describe what was going on. The only part I thought was a little sparse is when the cowboy killed the gunmen. I felt a little more descriptive action would have made it more believeable that he could kill five gunmen in a few seconds.

Other than that, it was poetic, sharp, and enjoyable to read.

Good job!:)

Gagged Man
August 25th, 2002, 09:43 PM