PDA

View Full Version : You know what's strange/fun about writing?

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Forrest
September 2nd, 2002, 12:08 AM
I am a musician, but I wish I could draw. I wish I could paint and draw all the marvelous things I see in my head.

So I was struggling with my trusty #2 pencil today trying to draw a really nice chair. And I imagined how a great artist would paint the chair, bathing it in a soft, afternoon sunlight. He would make every angle perfect, and he might even sketch in some ornate carvings on the old wood. It would probably take an artists many hours to make such a fantastic portrait of an old wooden chair sitting in a cabin in the forest.

Then I was thinking to myself how, with writing, I could simulate this feat in a matter seconds by writing,

"Deep within the forest, in the fading light of a warm summer afternnon, there stood a small cabin, nearly empty except for the antique wooden chair that sat bathing itself in the lingering touch of golden sun."

It just struck me what an interesting and powerful medium writing is. Nearly anyone can write a sentence that makes perfect sence, but only a WRITER can force your mind to immerse itself in the lush details that are coded onto a dusty page in the form of words.

It would take me days and days of labor to draw a beautiful woman, but with writing I could say,

"She was beautiful in a way that stole the breath and excited the heart, with her smooth brown curls and penetrating blue eyes."

I mean, that took me like three seconds, and it satisfied my mind's desire to see the woman.