PDA

View Full Version : Creative writting after programming for 10?

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

bluetreefrog
September 24th, 2002, 11:24 PM
Its a cryptic title, but thats just me. My question posed to any who may have suggestions is:

I work as a programmer, and tend to spend anywhere from 8 to 12 hours a day coding. This puts me in a very matter-of-a-fact mentality that seems to squash any potential creative thoughts.

I enjoy writting a great deal, and at times I even manage to create a story that entertains family and friends for hours. My problem is that I can only do this when I am on vacation from or just plain not working much at my job.

So, given my sad story, does anyone have thoughts on how I can "recover" from my job enough to enjoy my hobby?

Thanks,

kahnovitch
September 25th, 2002, 12:12 AM
Unfortunately writing is one unforgiving, time-consuming and demanding little mistress. You have to make time for it, lots of time.
After work it's damn hard to get into that frame of mind as all you want to do is kick back and relax.
I don't know if you have a spouse and kids etc, but if you do then you obviously have even less time to yourself.
All I can suggest is allocate a time for your writing, whether it be a couple of hours during a working week or at the weekend.
Lock yourself in the bedroom with a pen and paper away from all distractions and see what comes of it.

choppy
September 25th, 2002, 01:25 AM
I have this problem too. I'm a grad student and my research at the moment has a strong numerical component (translation - endless hours in front of the computer). I really enjoy writing, but sometimes I get home, sit down in front of my home computer and something inside me shouts "ENOUGH!"