PDA

View Full Version : New Things Under the Sun?

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

surreal00
October 20th, 2002, 06:42 PM
As a fairly new writer, I am always concerned that my "original" idea has actually been written about a dozen times in several magazines / ezines / writer's forums. Editors have also complained vociferously about this issue.

How would I go about testing the originality of an idea?
Examples:
1) I want the Orion Nebula's stellar nursery to be a main backdrop of a story. Has a story already been written with this backdrop?

2) I want to write a humorous nanotech story where all of our bones become rubbery and pliant. Has something along this line already been done?

Are there any websites that classify stories in a way that would help me here?

I realize that many factors go into the orginality of a story, but right now I simply want to avoid reinventing the plot wheel.
Any thoughts?

Surreal00

epimetheus
October 20th, 2002, 07:18 PM
I automatically asume with any new Idea that it has been done before. The chances of anything being done like I come up with it and written the same way are astronomical really. I wouldn't worry about rehashing an old concept though, alot of writers have used old ideas with much sucess and used originality in writing it. Same bowl of fruit, different angle, new method of conveying the reality of it. Or something like that.

LaZea
October 27th, 2002, 09:16 AM
I agree. Just write your story and because YOU wrote it and because there is only YOU who has the mind the way you do, it's going to be orginal. Don't worry about whether someone has written it before, because more than likely, someone has. Focus on more of HOW you tell the story.

Example: how many versions of vampire, zombie, witches and even mutant (Mutant X or X-men or Metahuman) stories do you think is out there? It's Endless.