View Full Version : New writer needing help

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

Jace
November 18th, 2002, 03:53 AM
Hello, I am 17 and I love to write. Even though english is one of my most feared subjects at school I write as much as I can.

I have never seriously written a story before. There was a time when I wrote a short story about 3 kids being trapped in a giant castle over night, but looking back at that story now makes me want to puke (even though it did get the highest rating out of the whole class) because it seemed so "kiddish". Since then I have written book reports, and book reviews, and about a month ago I realized that is what I want to do; to write. I am just beginning though, I wrote a start of a story and compared it to the works of Stephen King (reading a book of his, "It", and can't put it down) and realized my writting is terrible. All the good artists seem to have the forming of sentences down which make it flow perfectly, and mine seem to sound like "He did this, then he did this and that" which makes it seem like a 5 year old wrote it. Is there any advice you experts can give a wanna-be writer? How did you guys start in the writing business, did you experience the same problems as me?

Thanks for the help!

kahnovitch
November 18th, 2002, 05:39 AM
I think most writers have the same problems as you to one extent or another, the secret (as with many things) is practice.
I remember when I was in school (some time ago!) we constantly had to re-write stories correcting flow, grammar, spelling, and just about every damn thing that could possibly go wrong!
The first draft is always going to be ROUGH and writing the initial ideas and structure is (for me) the easiest part.
Refining the story so it looks good and flows is the hard part as you will often see what SHOULD be on the page, rather than what IS on the page.