View Full Version : Printed Errors.

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Pages : [1] 2

Shanoncia
January 1st, 2003, 03:50 PM
Okay, I hope this is the right place for this thread...

Whilst reading Memory, Sorrow and Thorn I've have come across numerous spelling errors, missing words, and typos. Is this common for somewhat newly printed books, and as an author how do you avoid this? I mean, I'm sure Tad has enough sense to get an editor, so how are these things overlooked? Are they corrected before printing again?

Sorry if these are ridiculous questions but I've just been very much surprised to find so manprinted errors. :rolleyes:

Hereford Eye
January 1st, 2003, 04:21 PM
The published authors can esily overrule me on this but I attribute it to two factors:
(1) As an author, I can't proof read my own stuff because I automatically see what I think I wrote.
(2) Too much reliance on automation. A speel checker doesn't care if it's the right word, just so it's spelled correctly. A copy editor hits the spell check button, gets no errors and let's it go.
So, the author is at the mercy of the production crew. Even reading the galley proofs brings factor (1) into play.

Roll the drums; clash the cymbals for a dramatic proof of my argument: I obviously think there are words such as esily and speel.

Valada
January 1st, 2003, 08:57 PM
Who knows? A manuscript goes through so many stages and processes before the final product - who can say how or why these things happen, or when exactly they occur? I mean, how did an entire chapter of Robin Hobb's book get left out in the first print run? Who overlooked that (obviously not the author)?!